Fuck the fucking guest sheets.


Okay, so I haven’t gone a little loco and packed up and bought a little BnB off the coast of god knows where, and am now riddling this blog with my many crossfires with the bedlinen.

No – that’s not what this blog is about.

It’s about freedom, and living life for each day – and not ever waiting for a special occasion. 

Let me tell you where this has come from, eh?

A very good girlfriend of mine recently decided to share her morning’s misfortune with me over a Nescafe instant blend, I have to admit I wasn’t very captured at first (anything resembling anything of a cousin of anything even slightly domesticated and you’ve lost me I’m afraid), until she got to the point.

– but first, the back story.

My good friend had a couple of friends due to stay at her apartment, and she was busy before work readying the ‘guest sheets’ and ‘guest towels’ for their arrival, and blending her morning smoothie – fresh forest berries was the order of the day, when splat! The concoction sprayed all over the very fancy sheets.

My friend was rope-able.

Not only did she have to serve up purple blotched sheets to her incoming guests, but she never even got to properly feel the high thread count, fancy sheets on her own skin – you know, untainted.

It was then she made a promise to herself. She muttered ‘Fuck the fucking guest sheets!’ Why am I using $5 crappy K-mart towels that feel like steel wool, when I have a cupboard full of $40 a pop soft as silk towels that would put the fluffiest of clouds to shame?

It’s ridiculous not to spoil ourselves with simple pleasures each and every day. How many of us are saving that bottle of wine, or that special candle, or that expensive perfume for a special occasion? Well let me tell you – everyday is a special occasion, and there is no need to hold onto something, and miss out on enjoying yourself in even the tiniest of ways if you can. That special occasion you’re waiting for? It probably won’t ever come.

You are important enough to use your expensive sheets, and the ‘good’ wine glasses and why shouldn’t you rock those expensive shoes to work if they make you feel utterly fabulous? We should be living life each day for us, and enjoying the little luxuries that can make life that much more pleasurable.

I’m sick of waiting for a more deserving day to spoil myself, when I’ve done everything to deserve it today. Life after all as they say is short –  so fuck the fucking guest sheets and spoil yourself absolutely rotten, yadig?

NQC x

What do you save for a ‘special occasion?’

You’ve got guest sheets too don’t you? Use them I tells ya! Snuggle up good and proper!

(Don’t you love it when I get all deep peeps?)

