June 02

The Baby Wait Debate


pregnant-barbie

For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to be a mother.

I’m under no illusions that it’s hard and it’s not all giggles and adorable gargles, it’s hard graft – and sometimes, just sometimes you’ll wish that you never went through with it.

And the LABOUR. Don’t get me started on the labour.

My friends who have had children look at me with that look when I ask about the birth.

You know the one. The one that says ‘It’s the hardest shit you’ll ever have to do. Like it will straight up mess with you. But the best part is, as soon as you hold that baby you’re programmed to forget what you just went through so that you’re more likely to do it again – and do you know what? It actually works. You do forget.”

Yep. One look says all of that.

So, when’s the right time to procreate?

Well, it all comes down to choice. When it feels right in your life, right?

My thing is, it feels right NOW. My body and my mind says that I can do it, but I know I’ll feel like I’m from MTV’s Teen Mom, completely out of my depth and not at all how I always envisaged I would be.

The other thing is, none of my friends or family members are even close to having kids, so will my baby just be on its own for ages, with no friends/cousins his or her age?

A new study out of the UK urges women not to wait to have kids, for fear of the cost that pregnancy assistance options like IVF has on both individual people and the government.

So, as I reach ‘optimal pregnancy age’, also known as, the age where thereafter your ability to fall pregnant decreases each year, 27, I find myself torn between continuing my career and going into mum mode.

God, would I love me some maternity leave right now! Can I get an ‘amen’?!

NQC x

