Are you suffering from ‘proposal paranoia’?


marriage-proposal

I’m 27 years old.

I have been with Mr. NQC for over three years.

We’re heading off on a romantic three-week holiday around the USA in September.

These three facts alone make me the perfect candidate for what I like to call ‘proposal paranoia’.

What is ‘proposal paranoia’ I hear you ask? Well, it’s the issue 20-somethings face when they’ve been with their partner for a significant amount of time and head away on holiday. Even if the woman doesn’t fit the stereotype of the marriage mad girlfriend, just waiting with baited breath for her partner to drop to one knee – everyone assumes that’s exactly the case anyway.

Let’s set the record straight.

I love Mr. NQC with every piece of my heart, I fully intend to spend the rest of my life with him, but I’m not waiting around, wishing and praying that we get engaged. I do want to get married, but quite frankly, I just don’t see the need to rush. I like my last name, I love how our relationship is, and I feel no need to just ‘get it done already.’

However, because of the three aforementioned facts, everyone – and I mean EVERYONE – is convinced that I’m coming home with a ring on my finger. And they say so, A LOT. To me AND to him.

Is it so hard to believe that not every woman is obsessed with getting engaged? I feel as though every time he bends down to pick something up on this trip I may suffer a mini heart attack. That’s a lot of heart jumping in a three-week period.

When Mr. NQC does pop the question, I would like to think he’s doing it because he wants to and feels ready – not because he’s been pressured to do it.

But before you write me off as the coolest girlfriend in the world, know this. Though a proposal isn’t as high on my priority list as it seems to be everyone else’s, I am baby MAD – and I don’t know if that’s better or worse for a guy. Okay, I am fully aware that it’s worse. Sorry! (not sorry.)

NQC x

